Winehiking enters the lexicon!

Winehiking shall ensue!Saturday morning I’ll be meeting up with a group of hikers to tramp along a 5-mile loop trail at Sunol Regional Park near Fremont, California. For those five miles, it will be a rather steep hike that promises such striking features as Cave Rocks, Calaveras Dam, Indian Joe Creek, and an area along its main drainage, Alameda Creek, known as Little Yosemite.

I’ve done this hike a time or two previously (I’m being modest here); in fact Sunol Park was one of the first parks I ever dusted my boots in. What enchants me about being there Saturday is that the organizer of this hike, a fellow from Oakland who goes by “J.D.”, has billed his event as a “Sunol Breakfast & Wine Hike”.

Well, the idea of breakfast before a steep hilly hike is always going to be a good one. To share breakfast first with fun outdoorsy friends is certainly an attractive prospect. The post-hike stop at Elliston Vineyards in the little town of Sunol also promises to be a treat because they’re hosting “Holiday in the Vineyards” in their 100-year-old stone Victorian.

Of course, they’ll be pouring wine, too.

Nevertheless, I am intrigued about the usage of the term “Wine Hike” by others. Perhaps I’ve had some influence; perhaps a winehike just sounds like good healthy fun. Naturally, I’m glad to see the term entering the lexicon, and I’m equally curious to see which trail it’ll take next.

~winehiker

One thought on “Winehiking enters the lexicon!

Feel free to comment!

