When the objective is not the goal

It’s not often that I’ll catch a Sunday football game, since I’m usually out sauntering along a trail somewhere. It doesn’t really matter that I’m missing this ritualized violence anyway, since I’m working in an environment in which there’s quite an assortment of 49er and Raiders fans who all dish out the Monday morning chatter at each other to a degree ever-so-slightly below gonzo fanaticism. All I have to do to find out who won over whom or which player is wearing too much bling is just keep my ears open.

Or tune ’em out.

So this morning I learned that two people got arrested at last week’s Raiders/Niners game for having sex in the stands.

Let’s see: the Raiders still haven’t won a game this season. Instead, they’ve lost five straight games. At this rate, I’m surprised more bored football fans aren’t getting it on in the seats.

In a comment on the incident, one of my Raider-fan colleagues remarked, “Well, at least somebody scored.”

~winehiker

2 thoughts on “When the objective is not the goal

  1. Rick, it might depend on what they were drinking — chardonnay or beer.

    Unless the times have drastically changed, no Raiders fan would be caught dead drinking white wine at a Raiders game. Considering those odds, as well as the sensibilities of the typical Niners fan, I’d say they were both Raiders fans.

    And I suppose, in this twisted prurient world, that they both have their own fans now.

Feel free to comment!

