Gliding along the trail: more on blister prevention

I periodically cruise the hiking forums to see what topics are important to hikers these days, and you know what? Today’s topics are those same tried-and-true topics that we long-in-the-tooth hike folk used to engage in way back when.

Topics such as:

  • What should I wear?
  • What kind of pack should I buy?
  • What foods should I carry?
  • How do I waterproof my bear canister?

OK, just kidding about that last one. Maybe.

But I think I should add to my Wear Wickable Fabrics to Avoid Blisters! post to note that if you experience more than your share of blisters on your feet from hiking, try liberally coating your feet before the hike with BodyGlide. The folks on the forums swear by it, and the BodyGlide folks themselves say:

The Skin Formula and Sun Formula are used to guard your feet against blisters, hot spots, and chafing from footwear, including sandals, boots, high heels, and athletic shoes.

BodyGlide: because it just ain't safe to chafe.

BodyGlide: because it just ain’t safe to chafe.

I’m reminded how much of a tenderfoot I really am now that I’m (still) trying to break in a new pair of Vasque boots. Yep, I’m experiencing blisters all over again, despite my own advice. Think I’ll give BodyGlide a try.

~winehiker

Feel free to comment!

