So long, old friends

Together, they took me through lush forests and vast deserts. They transported me to glorious High Sierra mountaintops. They carried me through the wild remoteness of the Paria Canyon Wilderness and they guided me up, over, and beyond the boulder jungles of Rockbound Pass in the Desolation Wilderness way back in 2000. They were the most comfortable, rugged, and durable of friends. And I’m going to miss them.

So long, old friends. For all your hard work, you get a wine send-off.

So long, old friends. For all your hard work, you get a wine send-off.

For, with cracked hides, tongues lolling, and soles departing, it is time to bid them fond farewell.

But Life goes on, and I’m now summiting mountains and traipsing forest trails in my 3rd pair of Vasques.  Not bad for twenty-plus years of tramping trail.  Thank goodness there’s still such a thing as a good pair of 2000-mile boots.

~winehiker

Feel free to comment!

