Will Sherpa…

I’ve often remarked, “Eat to hike, hike to eat!” on the trail. Goodness knows, there’s nothing quite like a good hike to rev your metabolism and make you want to scarf down anything that isn’t moving or nailed down – which pretty much means “anything.”

The following photo of me was taken along Whitney Portal Road in early September, 2002; that’s California’s tallest peak, 14,505-foot Mt. Whitney, in the background under cloud shadow. The signboard I’m holding used to say “Will Sherpa For Food” until a very enterprising PhotoShop artist and fellow winehiker, Jim Gross, cleverly doctored it to its present state of sloganeering. I kinda like it better now…for some strange reason.

As I shill for my dinner on the outskirts of Lone Pine, California, that's 14,505' Mt. Whitney back there behind me, lurking under cloud shadow.

As I shill for my dinner on the outskirts of Lone Pine, California, that’s 14,505′ Mt. Whitney back there behind me, lurking under cloud shadow.

Truth is: I will sherpa for wine. I’ll sherpa your wine! But you should probably know: I do get thirsty.

~winehiker

Feel free to comment!

